Tennessee Car Forums at TennSpeed banner
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
MFG Racing's 88' Starion Dragcar

OK, so I have been modifying dsm's for over 10 years now. I have also always loved the Mitsubishi Starion/Chrysler Conquest.
For many many years I have been into the drag racing scene also. About a month ago I found a 1988 Mitsubishi Starion that at one point
in its's life, it dominated the dragstrip. I found the car online, and aquired about it. After days of putting off going to look at it,
I finally did. Low and behold when I arrived to check it out, I was shocked at what I was looking at. There were Buschur Racing Stickers
& other various Sponser's all over the car. As I looked over the car I was seeing a Skinnies on the front and Fatties on the rear, 12point
roll cage, kirkey aluminum seat, RCI 5 Gallon fuel cell, Aeromotive A1000 fuel pump, MSD ignition Etc.. After looking a few more minutes,
I told the lady that I was going to get the cash right then. I figured for $1000.00 there was no way in hell that I could pass up this offer.

A few hours later I returned with the Cash and a Trailer ready to take this puppy home. After loading her up, and the 2 minute drive
home "yes,it sat in a field less than a mile away from my house for 3 years", I began to look over everything & the large tote of parts that
came with it. I added everything up and the value in Brand New parts alone was over $5,000. One could only imagine the excitment that I was
feeling. As Quagmire once said "DEAR Diary.....JACKPOT!!!!". I started off by giving her a much need bath, after sitting for many years
in a field under tree's you could only imagine how many times I rewashed. Did I mention it was under 30 degrees outside, lol. Then I covered
her up with my new $150.00 car cover that was a gift a year ago. A few days later I began to come up with ideas for the project at hand. I